Another Home Experiment – Wind Speed and Sound Level

Recently I told you about my home experiment regarding impact speed and sound level. I did another experiment with my sound level meter, this time I was interested in finding out how the sound level varies with the wind speed. So I took my anemometer (yep, that’s a thing) to measure the wind speed and at the same time noted the sound level. I collected some data points and plotted them. Here’s the result:

homeexperiment

As you can see the fit is not that bad (the adjusted r-square is 0.91).

So the sound level grows with the wind velocity to the power of 0.22, meaning that if the wind speed increases by a factor of twenty-five, the sound level doubles. According to the empirical formula, the noise from the wind inside a category 1 and 2 hurricane is comparable to the sound level at a rock concert. This is of course assuming that the formula holds true past the 12 m/s range over which it was determined (which is not necessarily the case, but for now the best guess).

Leave a Reply

